A Queensland Theatre and Grin and Tonic Troupe Production

The 7 Stages of Grieving

By Wesley Enoch and Deborah Mailman

Wise, poignant and powerful storytelling.

23 May – 27 May

Remaining a vital Australian masterwork 20 years after it was penned, The 7 Stages of Grieving is a wise and powerful play about the grief of Aboriginal people and the hope of reconciliation.

In this stunning new adaptation, the immensely talented Chenoa Deemal (last seen at Merrigong in Rainbow’s End) spins poignant stories of different people from different mobs – tear-streaked tales of tragedy go hand-in-hand with jubilant celebrations of survival. Funny, devastating, politically relevant and culturally profound, The 7 Stages of Grieving is an invitation for all of us to face hard truths, and to join hands and grieve.

Written by two of Australia’s most respected artists, Wesley Enoch and Deborah Mailman, The 7 Stages of Grieving has been skillfully updated to reflect our contemporary climate. The show shares true and personal stories that need to keep being told. And most importantly, it opens a dialogue about the issues that both separate and unite Indigenous and non-Indigenous people.

Recommended for ages 14+. Contains adult themes. 

“Ten seconds into Jason Klarwein’s magnificent new production of The 7 Stages of Grieving, and you’re hooked by the sense of history. Humble, decent and engaging, Deemal is the personification of the play’s inclusive message: that what drives superficial anger is, in reality, an enduring sense of grief.”
– The Australian

“…from any perspective this is a vital, throbbing piece of theatre in anybody’s cultural terms, and Chenoa Deemal’s performance is deadly. The text is flawless, the actor close to perfection, but what brings this play into the 21st century after 20 years, and redeems it from being just a period piece, is the direction and staging.” ★★★★★
– Daily Review

"Jason Klarwein directs this production with a grace and dignity. The text is enlightening without being didactic, and Deemal’s delivery is light-hearted, yet whole-hearted and solemn when needed...
The 7 Stages of Grieving will never grow old or become tired of being played or heard. It … should tour extensively in schools and regional centers to impart an important and shamefully neglected part of our history.”
– AussieTheatre.com

Free Talking Point
The 7 Stages of Grieving - Merrigong Talking Point
Saturday 27 May, approx. 30 mins after the matinee ends

Image: Chenoa Deemal. Photo by Aaron Tait

Sponsor logos

Commenting is provided by Facebook. Merrigong Theatre Company reserves the right to remove comments.

Buy TicketsSabo

Venue Information

Illawarra Performing Arts Centre, Bruce Gordon Theatre


View larger map

Cast & Creative Team

Jason Klarwein

Jessica Ross

Lighting Designer
Daniel Anderson

Sound and Projection Designer
Justin Harrison

Chenoa Deemal


Premium: $59
Adult: $49
Conc/Group 8+: $44
Under 30s: $29
Family of 4: $116 (Max 2 Adults)
School Groups 8+: $23

(Under 30s tickets not available online. A per transaction fee of $6.90 applies for phone and online bookings.)

Performance Times
General Public:
Tue 23 May, 7.30pm
Wed 24 May, 7.30pm
Thu 25 May, 11am
Thu 25 May, 6.30pm
Fri 26 May, 7.30pm
Sat 27 May, 2.30pm
Sat 27 May, 7.30pm

Post-show Q&A:
Thu 25 May, 11am
Thu 25 May, 6.30pm

Tactile Tour:
Sat 27 May, 1pm

Audio Description:
Sat 27 May, 2.30pm

Running Time
Approx. 55 mins (no interval)

Tickets On Sale
Available Now